Skip to main content

Endowed Positions at Stanford

Endowed positions are gifted by donors to support outstanding faculty, staff, and campus leaders. Through these meaningful investments, donors help enhance the Stanford community and strengthen the university’s future.

University, Presidential, and Provostial Professorships

The information presented in the table below is arranged alphabetically by title.

TitleCurrent Holder
The Burt and Marion Avery Professorship in ImmunologyPeter Sarnow
The Michael and Barbara Berberian ProfessorshipTo Be Named
The Bing Presidential ProfessorshipTo Be Named
The Bing Professorship in Environmental ScienceRodolfo Dirzo
The Peter and Helen Bing ProfessorshipTo Be Named
The Peter and Helen Bing Professorship IITo Be Named
The William H. Bonsall Professorship in FrenchDan Edelstein
The William H. Bonsall Professorship in HistoryNancy S. Kollmann
The William H. Bonsall Professorship in the HumanitiesBeth Levin
The William H. Bonsall Professorship in MusicTo Be Named
The Gerhard Casper ProfessorshipTo Be Named
The Christensen Directorship of Thinking MattersDan Edelstein
The Davies Family Provostial ProfessorshipKenneth E. Goodson
The Denning Family Provostial ProfessorshipJonathan Berger
The Michelle and Kevin Douglas Provostial ProfessorshipRobert Jackson
The Firmenich Next Generation Faculty ScholarJulia Kaltschmidt
The Freeman-Thornton Chair for the Vice Provost for Undergraduate EducationTo Be Named
The Harald Trap Friis ProfessorshipTo Be Named
The Gabilan ProfessorshipPatricia R. Burchat
The Harman Family Provostial ProfessorshipWilliam “Bill” T. Newsome
The Jensen Huang Professorship in Global LeadershipJelena Vuckovic
The IBM Provostial ProfessorshipEllen Markman
The George and Setsuko Ishiyama Provostial ProfessorshipEric Lambin
The Kimmelman ProfessorshipTo Be Named
The Martin Luther King, Jr. Centennial ProfessorshipLerone A. Martin
  1. page 1
  2. 2

This site is a comprehensive directory of endowed positions at Stanford. It is updated six times per year, following meetings of Stanford's Board of Trustees. Last updated April 29, 2024. For questions or corrections please email